The Boston Society of Architects announces the winners of the 2018 AIA New England Design Awards

CBT Architects

Boston—The Boston Society of Architects/AIA (BSA/AIA) announced the winners of the 2018 AIA NE Design Awards. Hosted annually by one of the seven New England Chapters of the American Institute of Architects (AIA), this year the 2018 AIA New England Design Awards Program was presented by BSA/AIA.

Held at BSA Space on October 12, the celebration was sponsored by: (Gold Level sponsors) Acentech, Copley Wolff Design Group, Crownpoint Cabinetry, Erland Construction, and Microsol Resources. (Silver level sponsors): JB Ventures and TCR Development, Marvin Windows and Doors, McPhail Associates, and Simpson Gumpertz and Heger.

The sole criterion for selecting this year’s winners was design excellence. This year, the jury took place in Washington, DC, with jurors from the AIA|DC community. The 2018 AIA New England Design Awards jurors were: Graham Davidson FAIA (chair), partner, Hartman-Cox Architects; Abigail Brown AIA, associate, Hickok Cole; Marnique Heath AIA, principal, Studios Architecture; Sven Shockey AIA, vice president and corporate design director, SmithGroup.

Winners are listed below. For more details and project images visit,

• Honor Award: 10 Farnsworth designed by CBT

• Honor Award: Duke University, Rubenstein Arts Center designed by William Rawn Associates, Architects

• Honor Award: Karl Miller Center, Portland State University designed by Behnisch Architekten in collaboration with SRG Partnership

• Honor Award: Lumen at Beacon Park designed by Touloukian Touloukian

• Honor Award: Pool House designed by Roger Ferris + Partners

• Honor Award: Research + Design Center designed by NADAAA

• Honor Award: Rock Creek House designed by NADAAA

• Honor Award: Salesforce Transit Center designed by Pelli Clarke Pelli Architects with Adamson Associates International

• Honor Award: Tanderrum Pedestrian Bridge designed by John Wardle Architects and NADAAA with Oculus

• Honor Award: Tecnológico de Monterrey New Main Library designed by Sasaki with GLR Arquitectos and RDLP Arquitectos

• Honor Award: The Lucas designed by Finegold Alexander Architects

• Citation: Brattleboro Music Center designed by Scott Simons Architects

• Citation: Bridge House designed by Höweler and Yoon Architecture

• Citation: Daniels Building designed by NADAAA

• Citation: Field School designed by Jonathan Levi Architects

• Citation for innovative play and ambition in a small project: Five Fields Play Structure designed by Matter Design and FR|SCH Projects

• Citation: MIT Theater Arts designed by designLAB architects

• Citation for restraint: Snyder Center designed by Perkins+Will

Also announced at the AIA New England Design Awards celebration were the firms awarded the 2018 Emerging Professional Friendly Firm designation:

• Small firms

Berkshire Design, Bild Architecture, Bruner/Cott Architects, Caveney Architectural Collaborative, designLAB architects, Dietz & Company Architects, Freeman French Freeman, GUND Partnership, J. M. Booth & Associates, Lassel Architects, Leers Weinzapfel Associates, LLB Architects, Market Square Architects, PDT Architects, Schwartz/Silver Architects, Studio G Architects, TBA Architects, The Architects.

• Medium firms

Ann Beha Architects, Arrowstreet, Bergmeyer Associates, CannonDesign, Davis Square Architects, DiMella Shaffer Associates, Dyer Brown Architects, Ellenzweig, Fennick McCredie Architecture, Phase Zero Design, Pickard Chilton, Svigals+Partners, WBRC Architects Engineers.

• Large firms

E4H- Environments for Health Architecture, Payette, SMMA, Thornton Tomasetti.