Four Finalists for BSA’s 2017 Harleston Parker Medal Award, Voting for People’s Choice Award Still Open

Interdisciplinary Science and Engineering Complex

BOSTON—Four Boston projects have been selected as finalists for the Boston Society of Architects’ Harleston Parker Medal, which recognizes “the most beautiful piece of architecture, building, monument, or structure built in the metropolitan Boston area in the past 10 years.”

After careful consideration, site visits, and a few days of healthy debate, the 2017 Harleston Parker jury made their choice for Boston’s “most beautiful” new building, according to BSA website. The most significant criteria for this year’s jury was the depth of a building’s conversation—architectural and philosophical—with its community.

The four finalists are:

Boston Public Library, Johnson Building Transformation

Designed by William Rawn Associates, Architects (Boston)

700 Boylston Street, Boston, MA

Photos: Bruce T. Martin; Millicent Harvey; Robert Benson

Boston Public Library

Collier Memorial

Designed by Howëler + Yoon (Boston)

Main Street and Vassar Street, Cambridge, MA

Photos: Iwan Baan; John Horner

Collier Memorial

Field Elementary School

Designed by Jonathan Levi Architects (Boston)

16 Alphabet Lane, Weston, MA

Photos: David Lena; Paul Warchol

Field School Weston

Interdisciplinary Science and Engineering Complex

Designed by Payette

805 Columbus Avenue, Boston, MA

Photos: Keitaro Yoshioka; Warren Jagger

Interdisciplinary Science and Engineering Complex

The online voting for People’s Choice Award is still on, according to the BSA website. Voting closes at 4:00 pm January 18. Cast your vote in the 2017 People’s Choice Award poll and have your say in which building deserves the coveted medal. To vote, click here.

The winner of the People’s Choice Award—as well as the winner of the Harleston Parker Medal—will be revealed at the 7th Annual BSA Design Awards Gala, on the evening of Thursday, January 18.

Nominate your favorite building for the 2018 Harleston Parker Medal by emailing [email protected] by Friday, March 16, 2018.