Home Architecture AIA Honors Five Projects With its 2019 Healthcare Design Awards

AIA Honors Five Projects With its 2019 Healthcare Design Awards


WASHINGTON – The American Institute of Architects (AIA) Academy of Architecture for Health (AAH) has recognized five projects with its 2019 Healthcare Design Awards.

The awards recognize cutting-edge designs that help solve aesthetic, civic, urban and social problems while also being functional and sustainable, AIA said in a statement.

Recipients include healthcare building design, healthcare planning and healthcare design-oriented research. This year’s projects were awarded by a seven-member jury in the following categories.

Category A

Built: Less than $25 million (construction cost)

Category B

Built: More than $25 million (construction cost)

Category C

Renovations/Remodeled: Primarily built within existing hospital or clinical space or adaptive reuse of an existing building to a healthcare use.

All five projects were honored at the AIA AAH/ACHA Summer Leadership Summit in Chicago on Saturday, July 27. Visit AIA’s website for more information on the AIA/AAH Healthcare Design Awards.

The GHESKIO Tuberculosis Hospital’s central feature is its interior courtyard, where patients spend much of their stay.

Founded in 1857, AIA consistently works to create more valuable, healthy, secure, and sustainable buildings, neighborhoods, and communities. Through more than 200 international, state and local chapters, AIA advocates for public policies that promote economic vitality and public wellbeing.

AIA provides members with tools and resources to assist them in their careers and business as well as engaging civic and government leaders and the public to find solutions to pressing issues facing our communities, institutions, nation, and world. Members adhere to a code of ethics and conduct to ensure the highest professional standards.

- Advertisement -