AIA announces Small Project Award recipients

Grad Lake Poolhouse

Washington – The American Institute of Architects (AIA) is recognizing 11 exceptional designs with its 2018 Small Project Awards. Complete details for each of the awarded projects can be reviewed on AIA’s website.  

Now in its 15th year, the AIA Small Project Awards program–established by The Small Project Practitioners (SPP)– recognizes small-project practitioners for the high quality of their work. The program also aims at raising awareness about the value and design excellence that architects can bring to projects, no matter their size or scope. Award recipients are categorized in three groups:

Category 1: Includes small project construction, an architectural object, work of environmental art or an architectural design element that cost up to $150,000 in construction.

Category 2: Includes small project construction that could cost up to $1,500,000 in construction.

Category 3: Includes small project construction, an architectural object, work of environmental art or an architectural design that is under 5,000 square feet.

The following are recipients of this year’s Small Project Awards by category:

Five Field Play Structure

Category 1:

Five Fields Play Structure; Lexington, MA | FR|SCH Projects in collaboration with Matter Design

Studio / Bunkhouse; Bainbridge Island, Washington | Cutler Anderson Architects

Category 2:

Rear Window House; Culver City, California | Edward Ogosta Architecture

Sawmill; Tehachapi, California | Olson Kundig

Shadow Play; Phoenix | Howeler + Yoon Architecture, LLP

Sonoma Residence; Santa Rosa, California | Alchemy Architects, LLC

The Grand Lake Poolhouse; Grand Lake o’ the Cherokees, Oklahoma| Allford Hall Monaghan Morris

Category 3:

BI(h)OME; Los Angeles | Kevin Daly Architects

Chapel at Congregation Kehilath Jeshurun; New York City | FXCollaborative

Principal Riverwalk Pump Station; Des Moines, Iowa | substance architecture

Rosewood Park Beach Improvements; Highland, Illinois | Woodhouse Tinucci Architects

Grad Lake Poolhouse

Recipients were selected by a five-member jury. This year’s jurors were Carolyn Adams, AIA (Chair), Carolyn Adams Architecture PLLC; Michael Antenora, AIA, Antenora Architects LLP; Steve Kordalski, AIA, Kordalski Architects Inc.; Brandon Frazier Pace, AIA, Sanders Pace Architecture LLC; and Elizabeth Whittaker, AIA, Merge Architects, Inc.

Founded in 1857, AIA consistently works to create more valuable, healthy, secure, and sustainable buildings, neighborhoods, and communities. Through more than 200 international, state and local chapters, AIA advocates for public policies that promote economic vitality and public wellbeing.

AIA provides members with tools and resources to assist them in their careers and business as well as engaging civic and government leaders and the public to find solutions to pressing issues facing our communities, institutions, nation, and world. Members adhere to a code of ethics and conduct to ensure the highest professional standards.

- Advertisement -